Services Directory

State Contacts
Office/Name Phone/Fax Address/E-mail/Web
IDALS, Animal Industry (515) 281-5305
Fax: (515) 281-4282
Wallace Building, 2nd Floor
502 E 9th St.
Des Moines, IA 50319
www.agriculture.state.ia.us
Acting State Veterinarian
Dr. David Schmitt
(515) 281-8601
Cell: (515) 669-3527
David.Schmitt@idals.state.ia.us
Info about your specific herd program
TB: Jasmine Schmitz
Brucellosis: Karla Crawford
CWD: Dee Clausen

(515) 323-2106
(515) 281-8285
(515) 281-8236 or (888) 778-7675
 


State District Veterinarians
Name Phone/Fax Address/E-mail
Dr. Gary Eiben
D.V.M.-Northeast
(515) 669-6095
Fax (563) 856-3009
2923 - 115th St.
Colesburg, IA 52035
Gary.Eiben@idals.state.ia.us
Dr. Tim Smith
D.V.M.-North Central
(515) 669-6231
Fax 382-4270
25800 - 620th St.
Nevada, IA 50201
Tim.Smith@idals.state.ia.us
Dr. Robert Welander
D.V.M.-Southeast
(515) 669-5929
Fax (319) 385-7000
2501 Iowa Ave.
Mt. Pleasant, IA 52641
Robert.Welander@idals.state.ia.us
Cervidae TB Program Coordinator (USDA)
Dr. Lon Evans
(515) 669-6020
Fax: (515) 284-4156
Lon.D.Evans@aphis.usda.gov


Additional Federal Veterinarians for Brucellosis
Name Phone/Fax E-mail
Dr. Sharon Fairchild (515) 669-3727 Sharon.K.Fairchild@aphis.usda.gov
Dr. Don Otto (515) 669-5559 Donald.J.Otto@aphis.usda.gov
Dr. Neil Rippke (712) 873-5073 Neil.E.Rippke@aphis.usda.gov


Other Contacts
Name/Office Phone/Fax Address/E-mail/Web
Cervidae Import Permits
Dr. David Schmitt
Dee Clausen

(515) 281-8601
(515) 281-8236 or (888) 778-7675
 
Export Inquiries (515) 284-4790 (USDA Hotline)  
Iowa Agriculture Web site   www.agriculture.state.ia.us
Bureau Chief, Iowa Meat and
Poultry Inspection Bureau
Mike Mamminga
(515) 281-3338 Wallace Building
Des Moines, IA 50319
Mike.Mamminga@idals.state.ia.us